2009 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards


Brisbane Lord Mayor Campbell Newman has congratulated finalists in the 2009 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards, which recognises excellence and rewards exceptional contributions to the growth of the city’s economy. “Finding inspiration for continued success within everyday business practice can be difficult, especially while the world is experiencing a financial crisis. However, outstanding Brisbane companies and individuals are developing leading-edge ideas which continue to inspire excellence, and drive our city’s economy into global prominence as ‘Australia’s New World City’, Cr Newman said. The Lord Mayor’s Business Awards is in its fourth consecutive year and is an initiative of Invest Brisbane, the city’s official investment promotion agency and part of Brisbane Marketing. Cr Newman said that the diversity and quality of entries across the nine categories reflected Brisbane’s emergence as an innovative, world-class city. “The creativity demonstrated in the nominations was also overwhelming and I commend all businesses and individuals who have committed to taking part in my Award’s program.” The finalists in each award category were selected by independent panels of local business leaders. The winners of all nine categories will be announced at the Awards gala dinner on October 8 at the Brisbane City Hall. Celebrating its fourth successful year, the Lord Mayor’s Business Awards rewards these exceptional contributions to the continued growth of Brisbane’s economy. Hosted by myself with Brisbane Marketing, the premier event is a unique opportunity to showcase the companies keeping Brisbane at the forefront of innovation, despite economic hardship,” Cr Newman said. The Lord Mayor’s Business Awards program was established in 2006 and has grown from five categories to 10 since its inception. 2009 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards Finalists! Australia TradeCoast Award for Business Growth Pipe and Civil Constructions TechnologyOne Di Bella Coffee Emporium Hotel Industrea Limited National Australia Bank Award for New Investment GBST Holdings Brisbane City YHA Tennis Queensland Digital Sense Hosting Empire Holdings T/A Cloudland Nova 106.9 Award for Creativity Hoodlum CumminsNitro Jean Brown Group The Prop House Urban Circus IBM Award for Innovation TechnologyOne Australian Country Choice Australian Innovative Systems University of Queensland – Institute of Continuing and TESOL Education Brisbane City Council Award for Corporate Citizenship McCullough Robertson The Coffee Club Franchising Company Clayton Utz BoysTown Energex Award for Sustainability Hassell Sinclair Knight Merz Parsons Brinckerhoff Leighton Properties Davidson Recruitment Award for Employer of Choice BMD Group Carter Newell Lawyers Conics Holiday Inn Brisbane Mercedes-Benz Award for Young Business Person of the Year Andrew Jessett, MineWare Nicole Hollows, Macarthur Coal Phillip Di Bella, Di Bella Coffee Channel 7 Award for Business Person of the Year Adrian Di Marco, TechnologyOne Stefan Ackerie, Stefan John Lazarou, The Coffee Club Franchising Company Paula Barrett, Pathways

Share this post

Scroll to Top

Subscribe for news and updates.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.